University of Oregon


Sustainable Cities Initiative

Sustainable City Year Program (SCYP) Model

What is SCYP?

The Sustainable City Year Program is a catalytic learning model that leverages existing courses to work on applied community projects identified by community stakeholders (i.e. city, county, school or transit district) over an entire academic year. The primary difference between SCYP and other engaged learning pedagogies is the scale, multi-disciplinary, opt-in, and community engaged nature.  In the Oregon implementation, 500 students across 10+ disciplines and 30+ courses work with a single city each year.  The large-scale approach provides a wide range of benefits for students, faculty, universities, and communities. 

Praise for SCI

SCYP has been described as "perhaps the most comprehensive effort by a U.S. university to infuse sustainability into its curricula and community outreach" (NY Times) and "one of higher education's most successful and comprehensive service-learning programs" (Chronicle of Higher Education).


The SCYP podcast series, hosted by SCI Co-Directors Marc Schlossberg and Nico Larco, provides an informative audio introduction to the SCYP framework. Listen to a five minute episode or the whole series in 30 minutes. 

Take Action

Site Navigation

SCYP Model